s
shell an
2 days ago
I130 case actively review since jan 2020
anyone get approved pd nov. 05 2020 sc Potomac center but agent on Emma says Nebraska not sure which is true … a little confused
29
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
What Emma means is your complete package is at NBC. Note most 130s are electronically processed at visa centers such as Potomac even if your case remains at a benefits center like NBC. Forms are continually being processed electronically until the Benefits Center gets all documents processed before the next phase. Either the case is now queued for your local office or sent overseas to an Embassy in the case of a foreign beneficiary who is not in the US.
J
Jawad Tahir2 days ago
Call USCIS and confirm your service center
s
shell an2 days ago
@Z. A original… case was mailed to uscis it wasn’t filed online. NOA recieve in the mail was issues from Potomac live agent through Emma says case is at Nebraska that’s why I’m a little confused got it ???
Raja Rm2 days ago
they always tell different stories I called one day I was told potomac and 2nd time vermont service center and I called again 3rd time right after 10 minutes then I was told potomac again I called yesterday to ask its in potomac service center so like I said they tell different stories
J
John adi2 days ago
I supmited my i130 on December 4th 2019 and still waiting for approval. and today I requested an expedite so will see .
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
Processing is being done all over to catch up. Normally it’s by your region. Most petitions go through Visa Verification with the Potomac Center. It’s a complex process that has worked for USCIS for decades. Trying to figure it out can be confusing. I have dealt with USCIS since the early 90s. Quite a complex process with various forms that get processed. The Pandemic threw them and us all into pandemonium. All will clear up sooner or later. God Bless. 🍀
l
liz m2 days ago
ZA any insight on why some cases activley review for months why others just a day or week. Many March and April 2021 applications are getting approved just like that
J
John adi2 days ago
@Z. A. Original, what do you mean of visa verification?
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
If a particular form is held up or the reviewing officer is out, USCIS Will use the phrase being actively reviewed. They rarely pass cases on to another officer. Note: Cases that they received as a package are processed by one officer that sends out eg. the 130 electronically to Potomac to verify the validity of any Visa status and verification of the petitioner. This is just 1 step before an approval is triggered for the remaining forms to be processed: sometimes at other Processing Centers like Vermont, Texas, Nebraska etc. NBC in Lee Summit MO is the Benefits Center where Lockbox Mail sends most packages. Work begins at NBC till all forms get the green light. The case is then out in queue for the Local Office to handle the final interview and adjudication.
l
liz m2 days ago
thank you. so should we go by the USCIS processing times when it’s in the “activley reviewed” stage? I am always trying to understand the difference between “received” and activley reviewed. does it mean progress is being made at activley reviewed stage
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
@John: Potomac is a visa center. They verify the beneficiary’s visa status to make sure it was issued from the Embassy. They even review the application form that was filled out in the home country. This lets them know they are processing the right person and it will trigger that beneficiary‘s visa to be labeled CWOP (Cancelled Without Prejudice) for a status change to occur. Visa Centers play a crucial role in the processing of any Immigration Benefit. This steps are crucial so CBP does not hold the beneficiary at any port of entry. Again, it is a very complex procedure to get immigration benefits setup the right way so ppl can travel without being harassed at the airports by CBP. Customs and Border Patrol.
J
John adi2 days ago
thanks 🙏 for all these priceless information
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
Anytime.
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
@Liz: Yes….your case is being worked on by an officer. The interesting thing is they work on several cases at a time as information gets transmitted to them regarding pending cases. It is not unusual to be actively reviewed for an ungodly lengthy period. Cases can be shelved right in the Officer’s office while he is getting more cases coming in. It isn’t a pleasant experience for those waiting but they do get around to it. A file of mine sat at NBC for 13 months once. That really sucked. NBC is like a replica of the Pentagon. It’s huge and it handles a majority of Immigration Benefit Requests internally. Average staff: 1800-2000 employees.
l
liz m2 days ago
thank you so much ZA. your time and info is very appreciated. it’s a very unpredictable process so it’s nice to get some insight
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
@Liz: The little I learnt about the process over the decades. Glad I can share that bit. 🍀
p
paul s2 days ago
@ZA Original, mine went from received to actively reviewed in only 3 days after filing. Is that common? Random?
f
faheem mohammed2 days ago
@ john adi. what was the reason you gave for expedite. I am also on same boat. submitted i130 on December 2019 but not approved yet.
J
John adi2 days ago
@faheem Mohamed, my wife fallen sick in overseas and she need my attention , and I got all the evidence from the labs test and doctors reports . I have done this 2 months ago and they just sent me an email saying: you are in the line to be reviewed, please wait ... etc . they didn’t even say it’s approved or denied or even ask for any evidence. so frustrating situation and I have called the Uscis too many times and nothing changned.
f
faheem mohammed2 days ago
@ John adi : well sorry for your wife sickness. I appreciate your affords towards her. Hopefully your expedite approved this time. please do let’s us update about your expedite after
J
John adi2 days ago
I will do .
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
@John: That’s sad. My Prayers are with you both at this time. Hopefully you hear something very soon. 🙏🏾
Z
Z. A. Original2 days ago
@Paul: That’s luck. As I do not know anything about your case type, is it possible you presented a complete package with concurrent filing? It does happen when a Case Package goes in concurrently with everything completed accurately including a list of contents etc. The assigned IO can process that quickly by verifying one form after the other and setting things rolling. I cannot speculate if this is what’s happening here but I can say you are in luck my friend. God Bless. 🍀
J
John adi2 days ago
thanks Z. A. Original. it’s really tough situation I feel helpless . it’s just so unfair to go through all this when it can be done in few months . distance it’s really hard and even start to effect our relationship I’m running out of time .
Z
Z. A. Originala day ago
@John: You are right, this takes a heavy toll on relationships. We feel helpless with nowhere to turn. Attorneys just drain your $$$$ and tell you to Wait. Same thing the Congressman’s office will do for free. Keep praying my friend. Soon. 🙏🏾🍀
p
paul sa day ago
@Z. A. thanks for the info. The petition we filed is an i130 spouse visa. I'm a USC petitioning for my wife. We did include the list of contents on the front and I think it was pretty thoroughly submitted. Hopefully!
s
shell ana day ago
I’m happy my post have been helpful thanks to @Z.A.Original for educating us though I hired an attorney to file my petition and everything for me I still do lots of research and I discover new ideas everyday. my petition is i130 for my husband who is not a usc and outside in a foreign country as well I am a usc tho. my petition was filed and mailed from MN to uscis in Lewisville,TX, received in Nov. 2020 and actively reviewed since Jan. 2021. I’m still waiting hopefully to get approved soon… God luck to us all 🙏🙏🙏🙏
Z
Z. A. Originala day ago
@shell an: Thanks. It shall all pass. We will all get through this eventually. With your hubby overseas, it takes a bit longer than usual. God Bless.
p
paul sa day ago
@ZA Original, sorry I didn't see the part about concurrent filing. We are doing a standalone i130. Wife is currently still in her home country. I am in the US working to re-establish domicile as I lived with her overseas for 6 years prior to filing.

Popular hashtags